August Wilhelm Henningsen Wins ATE&M’s Lifetime Achievement Award

The winners of the 2015 ATE&M Awards were announced last night (May 27) at a black tie ceremony held at the Royal Garden Hotel, London with the Lifetime Achievement award, sponsored by AJW Aviation, presented to August Wilhelm Henningsen, the recently retired chairman of the executive board of Lufthansa Technik.

The winners of the 2015 ATE&M Awards were announced last night at a black tie ceremony held at the Royal Garden Hotel, Kensington, London. In addition to the individual category awards, a Lifetime Achievement award, sponsored by AJW Aviation, was given to August Wilhelm Henningsen, the recently retired chair of the executive board of Lufthansa Technik (LHT).

Presenting the award, Boris Wolstenholme, CEO of AJW Aviation, said:  “Since 1993, I am proud to say that AJW has rubbed shoulders with August Henningsen during his time at Lufthansa Technik. He has always been a shrewd and honourable adversary, as we have competed for business in the delivery of aircraft spares support on a global scale. During his tenure both companies have pioneered new services for airlines that have raised the standards of flight efficiency and improved dispatch reliability.  
“His achievements at the helm of Lufthansa Technik speak for themselves; he is a genuine and highly respected figurehead for the MRO industry with a photographic memory and deep understanding of all aircraft types and technical issues. I am delighted to present the Lifetime Achievement award to such an outstanding and worthy winner.”

Henningsen responded by saying: “I am extremely honoured to have been nominated and finally being selected by the jury to receive the esteemed ATE&M Lifetime Achievement Award. I would like to dedicate this award to the 26000 highly qualified and motivated Lufthansa Technik colleagues in more than 30 companies around the world.“

CEO of Lufthansa Technik, Johannes Bussmann, added: “Under the leadership of August Wilhelm Henningsen, Lufthansa Technik rose to the top of the world's MRO industry. His outstanding achievements for the good of the company and the industry are a strong motivation for me and the entire Lufthansa Technik management team. We are very grateful to him for the strength of his commitment over so many years.”

The judges made their choice for this award from a particularly strong shortlist which included: Mário Araújo, EVP of TAP Maintenance & Engineering; Doug Parker, chairman and CEO of American Airlines; James Stewart, former CEO of SR Technics; William Tan Seng Koon, president and CEO, SIAEC; Ron Utecht, former president of TIMCO (now HAECO Americas) and Andre Wall, CEO of SR Technics.

This was the fifth year of the ATE&M Awards which are designed to recognise the achievement of organisations and individuals across the entire MRO sector of the global commercial aviation industry, from airframe, engine and line maintenance, to component and spare parts trading, to logistics and aftermarket support.

Jeremy Buckle, events director at MRO Network, commented: “Last night was a true celebration of achievement in all areas of the global aviation MRO sector. The standard of entries was particularly high this year, so praise is due to every shortlisted entrant, but our particular congratulations go to everyone who went home with an award after such a highly successful and enjoyable evening.”

The evening was hosted by television presenter and actor, Dallas Campbell, recent winner of Celebrity Mastermind and former presenter of Channel 5’s The Gadget Show.

TAGS: Europe
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.