Eligibility Requirements For Master Mechanic Award Updated

AA updates selection process and eligibility criteria for Charles Taylor Master Mechanic Award.

The FAA recently updated its information guide describing the application, selection process and eligibility requirements for the Charles Taylor “Master Mechanic” Award. The program honors Taylor, who built and maintained early Wright Brothers engines and airplanes, and recognizes those who have dedicated a lifetime of service to aviation maintenance. The guide replaced Advisory Circular 65-26 in 2015 and has been revised twice since it was issued in August 2015.

Credit: The Aircraft Maintenance Technicians Association

The December 2016 edition of the publication incorporates minor editorial changes, including clarification that the requisite 50 years’ experience need not be obtained in consecutive years and that the agency is not limited in the number of lifetime achievements it may recognize.

Successful nominees must have U.S. citizenship and 30 of the requisite 50 years’ experience as a repair technician or mechanic. In 2016, 136 honorees were recognized; according to the “Roll of Honor,” more than 2,300 mechanics have received the award since it was established.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.